Tuna Turmoil

Before today I had only tasted tuna twice, I loved it both times. So I decided to buy myself a can of chunk tuna and make a meal out of it. One problem, I didn’t know what to do with it.

It was just me and the can of tuna alone in the kitchen, eying each other, wondering what to do next. I decided to do what any 21st Century human being would do, go to the internet for the answer. I found hundreds of recipes, salads to pastas to tunaloafs to a load of other things. Funny how many recipes are out there for simple old tuna, problem is, none of them were simple for my taste. Second, they all used mayonnaise. I hate mayonnaise. Plus I don’t like my food liquefied, I love food to have texture, taste and spice.

So I decided to make my own tuna salad, cause I was in no mood to make sandwiches.

So here I am with my cold can of tuna and looking for ingredients to make a delicious simple mouth watering salad. So I started pulling out stuff that I like and here’s the result:

Simple Tuna Caesar Salad (No Mayo)

Ingredients:

1 medium can of cold light tuna (it’s around 6 ounces, chunked)

1/2 green pepper sliced and diced

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/4 teaspoon cumin

1 squeezed lemon

1 loaf of bread, cut into fine pieces and toasted

Instructions:

1. Drain the tuna really well, make sure its nice and cool too.

2. Slice and dice the green pepper, keep it aside for now.

3. Cut up the bread into small squares and put them in a sandwich toaster, toast till white but crispy.

(You can use any bread and with the  quantity you want, make sure its not too much though, its a salad not a sandwich. I used a loaf of burger bread, cause that’s what I had around. Cut it into any shape you want, I just like squares.)

4. Put the tuna chunks in a bowl and use a fork to shred is up a little bit.

5. Drop the sliced green pepper into the bowl and mix it up with the tuna.

6. Now put the salt, pepper, cumin and lemon into the tuna bowl and mix it around.

(You don’t have to use the exact amount of salt, pepper and cumin, it’s dependant on your taste so feel free to use what you want here.)

7. Throw in the toasted bread bits and mix it around.

8. Enjoy.

It was amazing! Seriously I didn’t want the bowl to end, but it did. Now I didn’t get the shredded tuna in the first place because it just soaks up too much oil and doesn’t taste that good.

I absolutely loved that tuna salad, but I feel that it’s missing something. I’m going to dedicate an entire page to tuna, I’m going to experiment with different recipes until I find the perfect tuna recipe.

If you have any ideas I’m wide open, lets have some tuna people!

~ by ngraves on June 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
