It’s all about Choice – A World of Warcraft Story

Life is all about choices, every few minutes you realize that there is something that you have to choose from.

What am I gonna eat for breakfast?

Where are we going to go out on Friday night?

What am I gonna wear today?

Whats my favorite color?

These questions never end. Whether they’re trivial things like which pillow you like the most to life altering decisions like changing career or getting married.

I’m actually the kind of person who is confident only about pretty much one thing, I’m freaking indecisive. Even if I end up making a decision I usually question the decisions that I make, all the time. Whether its choosing what character to play in a game, or whether me going into mechanical engineering was a good decision or if electrical engineering would have been a better choice.

Another thing about me is that I love games, and I hate it when I have to choose a class. I’m not the kinda person who has a certain play style, or class that I usually play with. Let me elaborate, now I’m quite certain everybody has heard of World of Warcraft.

The magnificent World of Warcraft

Where have I seen this before?

Lets see here, I started off with a character, it was a Night Elf Hunter, I really enjoyed playing with him up until level 15. Then I deleted him to make a Night Elf Warrior, which was a PvP blast! Until lvl 28, then I deleted him too. To make a Human Mage, which happily sparked along till level 31, then he met the delete button. Then I made a Dwarf Hunter, who blasted his way to level 26, only to meet the same fate.

This cycle continued for another 4 characters, ranging from humans to orcs, paladins to rogues, until I decided to go and try a Warlock, not because I wanted to play with him but to just use him to annoy one of my friends.

It was pretty much the only character to survive with me! Slightly longer than the others, he actually met a worse fate. He reached level 50, which was by the original WoW standards, 10 levels away from endgame. I didn’t just delete him, I ended up selling all his items to an NPC, donating all the money, having him wear nothing but his undergarments, run all around Ironforge to announce his demise (I was a bit into Roleplay), to have all of Ironforge wait at the great forge and watch me jump into the hot flowing lava ( I think it was lava) for the first and literally last time.

Then he met the delete button, after which I made a Human Paladin that I twinked until level 27, which became known as on of the most feared PvP twinked Paladins in the level 20 – 30 range.

I started to feel guilty about throwing away my Warlock, so I asked Blizzard to give him back, which they gracefully did. Starting out with my underwear at level 50 and not a single piece of copper was not what I had in mind, but there were a few good folks that helped me get through.

Now remember my twink Paladin? Wonder what happened to him, well lets just say he also met the delete button!

Then I quit WoW at level 53.

Quite a story don’t you think? So here’s is the think I want to ask you all;

“What helps YOU make your choices? What helps you stay determined with your choice?”

I don’t mean that only in a gaming sense, you can apply that to anything you want.

Nathan

~ by ngraves on June 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
